Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice

The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice offers unparalleled training for future careers in pharmacy. Our innovative curriculum focuses on integrative health and putting the patient first. Our goal is to train students in the classroom and in the field to improve our society’s health and well-being.

The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice is an essential component of the School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences as it is the home of our clinical pharmacy practice faculty, who are developing and delivering didactic and experiential curricula for the Doctor of Pharmacy program.

"Our clinical faculty are involved in collaborative research across a range of clinical foci, such as new drug clinical trials, drug adherence research, pharmacokinetics, pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacogenomics, pharmacoeconomics, and outcomes research."

- Alexandre Chan, Pharm.D., MPH, FCCP, FISOPP, BCPS, BCOP







Join Anteaters in Pharmacy

Anteaters in Pharmacy is the official UCI alumni chapter
dedicated to pharmacy, pharmaceutical sciences, and the overall sector. Members engage in our community, build their networks,
volunteer together, and contribute to UCI.

Strategic Plan for UCI Pharmacy

Since the start of 2021, pharmacy leaders from the UC Irvine School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences (SPPS) and the UCI Medical Center’s Department of Pharmaceutical Services have met to discuss the strategic direction of the two units.

The UCI School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences is part of the Susan and Henry Samueli College of Health Sciences, which combines with the UCI Health clinical enterprise to form UCI Health Affairs. The synergy between UCI Health and the academic disciplines of medicine, nursing, pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences, public health, and integrative health, enables UCI to transform education, discovery, and patient care.

To expand the collaboration between the UCI School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences and the UCI Medical Center Department of Pharmacy, leaders from both units will focus on six strategic initiatives from 2021 through 2023. The six initiatives will serve as the foundation for longer-term strategic planning that will begin in 2023.

Clinical Pharmacy Practice News

Mission

To cultivate future-ready pharmacists to optimize individualized medication therapy through education, practice and research.

Vision

The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice strives to be in the frontier of healthcare by transforming pharmacy practice. 

Hero's work here
Amal Alachar pharm sci/SOM researches neurotransmitter systems, neural circuits, molecular pharmacology
photo: Steve Zylius/UCI

Pharmaceutical Sciences & Clinical Pharmacy Practice Intertwined

Collaborations within the Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice and the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences will allow interdisciplinary research and training in pharmaceutical sciences, biomedical sciences and clinical pharmacy.

Clinical Pharmacy Faculty

 NameTitleEmail
Christine Cadiz, PharmD, M.A., BCPSHealth Sciences Assistant Clinical Professorchristine.cadiz@uci.edu
Alexandre Chan, PharmD,
MPH, FCCP,FISOPP, BCPS, BCOP, APh
Professor and Founding Chair a.chan@uci.edu
Nana Entsuah, PharmDHealth Sciences Assistant Clinical Professornentsuah@uci.edu
Shawn Griffin, PharmD, BCOPHealth Sciences Assistant Clinical Professorshawn.griffin@uci.edu
Jan Hirsch, BS Pharm, MS, PhD, FNAP Founding Dean and Professorjdhirsch@uci.edu
Keri Hurley-Kim, PharmD, MPH, BCACP Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor khurleyk@uci.edu
Melanie Joe, PharmD, MPA, FCSHP
Founding Associate Dean for Pharmacy Professional Affairsmdjoe@uci.edu
John Jones, BS Pharm, JD, FAMCPPart-Time Health Sciences Clinical Professor johndj@uci.edu
Joyce Lee, PharmD, FCCP,
BCPS, BCACP, APh
Health Sciences Clinical Professor j.lee@uci.edu
Sarah McBane, PharmD, CDE,
BCPS, FCCP, FCPhA, APh
Founding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Education
and Health Sciences Clinical Professor
smcbane@uci.edu
Lee Nguyen, PharmD, APh, BCPS-AQ ID, BCIDPHealth Sciences Associate Clinical Professorl.nguyen@uci.edu
Megan Nguyen, PharmDFounding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Student Affairs
and Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
megan.nguyen@uci.edu
Aya Ozaki, PharmDAssistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacyafozaki@uci.edu
Aryana Sepassi, PharmDAssistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacyasepassi@uci.edu
Jonathan Watanabe, PharmD, M.S, Ph.D., BCGP
Founding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Assessment and Quality
and Professor in Clinical Pharmacy
jonathan.watanabe@uci.edu
Cheryl Wisseh, PharmD, MPH
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professorcwisseh@uci.edu