Interested in becoming a preceptor ? Click here.

Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice

The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice offers unparalleled training for future careers in pharmacy. Our innovative curriculum focuses on integrative health and putting the patient first. Our goal is to train students in the classroom and in the field to improve our society's health and well-being. The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice is an essential component of the School of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences as it is the home of our clinical pharmacy practice faculty, who are developing and delivering didactic and experiential curricula for the anticipated Doctor of Pharmacy program.

"our clinical faculty are involved in collaborative research across a range of clinical foci, such as new drug clinical trials, drug adherence research, pharmacokinetics, pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacogenomics, pharmacoeconomics, and outcomes research."

Alexandre Chan, Pharm.D., MPH, FCCP, FISOPP, BCPS, BCOP

Join Anteaters in Pharmacy

Anteaters in Pharmacy is the official UCI alumni chapter dedicated to pharmacy, pharmaceutical sciences, and the overall sector. Members engage in our community, build their networks, volunteer together, and contribute to UCI. To learn more and join contact Meredith Kwok m.kwok@uci.edu.

Sign up for our newsletter!

Receive school updates and faculty news.

Clinical Pharmacy Practice News

Mission

To cultivate future-ready pharmacists to optimize individualized medication therapy through education, practice and research.

Vision

The Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice strives to be in the frontier of healthcare by transforming pharmacy practice. 

Hero's work here
Amal Alachar pharm sci/SOM researches neurotransmitter systems, neural circuits, molecular pharmacology
photo: Steve Zylius/UCI

Pharmaceutical Sciences & Clinical Pharmacy Practice Intertwined

Collaborations within the Department of Clinical Pharmacy Practice and the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences will allow interdisciplinary research and training in pharmaceutical sciences, biomedical sciences and clinical pharmacy.

Clinical Pharmacy Faculty

 NameTitleEmail
Christine Cadiz, PharmD, M.A., BCPSHealth Sciences Assistant Clinical Professorchristine.cadiz@uci.edu
Alexandre Chan, PharmD,
MPH, FCCP,FISOPP, BCPS, BCOP, APh
Professor and Founding Chair a.chan@uci.edu
Jan Hirsch, Ph.D.Founding Dean and Professorjdhirsch@uci.edu
Keri Hurley-Kim, PharmD, MPH, BCACPHealth Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor khurleyk@uci.edu
Joyce Lee, PharmD, FCCP,
BCPS, BCACP, APh
Health Sciences Clinical Professor j.lee@uci.edu
Sarah McBane, PharmD, CDE,
BCPS, FCCP, FCPhA, APh
Founding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Education
and Health Sciences Clinical Professor
smcbane@uci.edu
Lee Nguyen, PharmD, APh, BCPS-AQ ID, BCIDPHealth Sciences Associate Clinical Professorl.nguyen@uci.edu
Megan Nguyen, PharmDFounding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Student Affairs
and Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor
megan.nguyen@uci.edu
Jonathan Watanabe, PharmD, M.S, Ph.D., BCGP
Founding Associate Dean of Pharmacy Assessment and Quality
and Professor in Clinical Pharmacy
jonathan.watanabe@uci.edu
Cheryl Wisseh, PharmD, MPH
Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professorcwisseh@uci.edu